For the Love of Liquid Lipsticks: My Favorites

In recognition of National Lipstick Day, I decided to take a break from the Science of Beauty series and talk about one of my personal favorite parts of makeup; lipstick. The right lip color can take your makeup look to an entirely different level. Lately liquid lipsticks have been on trend and I have accumulated over 200 in my personal collection. Yeah, I know… issues. 


Not all of these lippies are created equal so I wanted to share with you my personal favorites. 

  • Colourpop: Colourpop came out with quite a bang. Their liquid lipsticks slide into the conversation with their wide color range and low price point. At only $6, there are colors for everyone. These lipsticks do not budge once they are dry, which I LOVE. They can be a little drying but a lip primer solves that problem. The main thing you have to worry about is them discontinuing your favorite color. Collabs and special edition colors don’t last forever and that can be sort of a drag. 

  • Too Faced Melted Liquid Lipsticks: If you know me, you know that Too Faced is my absolute favorite brand. From packaging to scenting of the products, they cover all bases. Too Faced is a phenomenal VEGAN brand… hold up, yes… I said vegan. The Melted Liquid Lipsticks have amazing pigmentation, a wide color range and wonderful staying power. I absolutely love these lippies. At $21 they are worth every cent. 

  • Tarte Matte Lip Paint: Tarte is a phenomenal cruelty free brand for all of my animal lovers. No animal testing! The Matte lip paints are phenomenal, coming in a wide range of beautiful colors. The formula is soft and creamy with a bit of a mint tingle upon application. These liquid lipsticks are not at all drying and they feel like a cushion on the lips. At only $20, you won’t be disappointed. 

  • MAC Retro Matte Liquid Lipcolor: Last but certainly not least, at $20 come MAC Retro Mattes. A little later to the party than everyone else, MAC jumped on the lip train and released this phenomenal line of lip colors. They are totally up my alley with cool earth tones and browns. Sheesh. These are not drying to the lips and they do not transfer once dry. The colors are absolutely phenomenal and the applicator is BOMB. It is personally my favorite applicator ever. 

Those are my four favorite liquid lipsticks. All of the brands are phenomenal and have their strengths. Certainly give them all a try for yourself if you haven’t. Happy National Lipstick Day to my fellow lipstick lovers and don’t forget to go to MAC for your freebie. 

4 thoughts on “For the Love of Liquid Lipsticks: My Favorites

  1. Samantha says:

    So, for someone new to the lipstick game, what should I start with? I’m lowkey scared that I’m going to get out of control purchasing different colors like someone I know…lol jk, Chi! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

